Internet DOOM Utilities
Main | Start Server doesn't load PWADs - Forum | Registration | Login
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Forum » IDE discussion and other.. » Bugs, remarks » Start Server doesn't load PWADs
Start Server doesn't load PWADs
deadeye6Date: Tuesday, 2018-07-17, 18:03 | Message # 1
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 2
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
When starting a Zandronum server with Doom Explorer, Zandronum doesn't get the correct paths for the PWAD directory. It doesn't matter if I'm starting via Doom Explorer or create a batch first.
When looking into the created rsp file it looks like this:

Code
+deathmatch 1
-iwad "D:\deadeye6\Desktop\Doom Explorer\IWAD\doom2.wad"
-file "PWAD\dk_dm_pack.wad"
-port 10666
-upnp
+exec "Deathmatch LAN.cfg"

As a workaround I edit the -iwad and -file lines like this:

Code
-iwad "..\..\..\IWAD\doom2.wad"
-file "..\..\..\PWAD\dk_dm_pack.wad"

or:

Code
-iwad "D:\deadeye6\Desktop\Doom ExplorerIWAD\doom2.wad"
-file "D:\deadeye6\Desktop\Doom Explorer\PWAD\dk_dm_pack.wad"

I'm only using relative paths in the Doom Explorer config, so I prefer the first example.


Message edited by deadeye6 - Wednesday, 2018-07-18, 03:08
 
bondDate: Wednesday, 2018-07-18, 12:39 | Message # 2
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 176
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
you are right - I had to convert all the paths to absolute before launching, but I forgot this part (wonder how nobody noticed it for so many years.. )
btw, why do you need relative paths in bat-files? do you use them on different systems?
 
deadeye6Date: Friday, 2018-07-20, 13:42 | Message # 3
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 2
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Sorry for the late response, couldn't make it earlier.
I use relative paths in the bat-file to make it portable, so I don't have to create a new one everytime I start the server on another machine. Everything is running from my usb drive (I can use my Computer at work at lunchtime).
But I would prefer running the server directly from Doom Explorer. It's much nicer and faster to edit the settings.
 
Forum » IDE discussion and other.. » Bugs, remarks » Start Server doesn't load PWADs
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Search:

bond © 2001-2018 Powered by uCoz