Internet DOOM Utilities
Main | additional command line parameters no svaed - Forum | Registration | Login
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
additional command line parameters no svaed
jimflasch76Date: Tuesday, 2022-02-08, 16:22 | Message # 1
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Why does Doom Explorer no longer save additional command line parameters set in the main window as part of game configurations as it used to do, but instead erase them with every restart of the program? And why are such parameters set in the "Launch Game Parameters" window of the Options menu not sent to the game engine?
 
bondDate: Wednesday, 2022-02-09, 02:42 | Message # 2
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 203
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
Quote jimflasch76 ()
Why does Doom Explorer no longer save additional command line parameters set in the main window as part of game configurations as it used to do, but instead erase them with every restart of the program?
What additional parameters do you mean - in single game or multiplayer? Can you be more specific and give a step by step example of what you are doing
Parameters set in the "Launch Game Parameters" are used for multiplayer only - dont  they work as expected too?
 
lynchcocoDate: Wednesday, 2022-02-09, 07:40 | Message # 3
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 4
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
https://imgur.com/klz1Wr4

These sections don't save when the program is closed even when saving the configuration.


Message edited by lynchcoco - Wednesday, 2022-02-09, 07:41
 
bondDate: Thursday, 2022-02-10, 04:38 | Message # 4
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 203
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
Everything works for me as it should - all parameters are saved and loaded
The only way to break the program that comes to my mind is to block the write to the configuration file (doomexplorer.ini) - in this case, no changes will be saved
 
lynchcocoDate: Thursday, 2022-02-10, 06:51 | Message # 5
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 4
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
It is writing. It seems to overwrite it whenever the program starts even if I edit the ini file.
 
bondDate: Thursday, 2022-02-10, 08:04 | Message # 6
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 203
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
Doom Exlorer writes ini-file only when closed (or click "Save" button in Options) - not at start. But when it read ini at start and encounters an invalid value, it uses the default value instead (for addparams it will be empty string). May be you incorrectly edit it?
Additional parameters for current single game settings are in section [SingleConfig0], parameter "addparams", for example
addparams=-test1,-test2
will add 2 strings to Additional parameters window: "-test1" and "-test2"
(although it's best to avoid editing this file)
 
jimflasch76Date: Thursday, 2022-02-10, 21:00 | Message # 7
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
This issue still exists in the newly released version 1.18. And I'm putting in the params correctly - they do what they're supposed to do in game. And those params are indeed saved when I close the program, but do not appear when I restart it,  and are overwritten with a blank line if I do not re-enter them in the program.
 
bondDate: Friday, 2022-02-11, 01:17 | Message # 8
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 203
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
this is really weird..show me this line from the ini file: addparams, from the [SingleConfig0] section (or better, the entire section)
 
lynchcocoDate: Friday, 2022-02-11, 07:19 | Message # 9
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 4
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
https://imgur.com/a/FgDV0cT

Here's mine after saving.

https://imgur.com/a/zzg0KuT

And here is after I reopen the program.
 
bondDate: Friday, 2022-02-11, 10:45 | Message # 10
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 203
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
found a bug
try this: http://doomutils.ucoz.ru/files/DoomExplorer219.zip
 
lynchcocoDate: Friday, 2022-02-11, 12:16 | Message # 11
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 4
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Works all good for me now.
 
bondDate: Friday, 2022-02-11, 12:54 | Message # 12
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 203
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
very good
thank you for help
 
jimflasch76Date: Friday, 2022-02-11, 21:16 | Message # 13
Private
Group: Users
Messages: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Fixed. Thank you.
 
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Search:

bond © 2001-2024 Powered by uCoz